See below for detailed PADD/geographic information.


DateU.S. AverageEast CoastNew EnglandCentral AtlanticLower AtlanticMidwestGulf CoastRocky MountainWest CoastCalifornia

About DOE regional averages:

DOE’s regional averages are drawn from its weekly national survey of 350 diesel service centers. The stations are surveyed on Mondays and the results are reported late that day.

DOE divides the country into five geographic districts called Petroleum Administration for Defense Districts (PADD). It also breaks the East Coast into three subdistricts and treats the state of California as a subdistrict of the West Coast.

The full geographic breakdown is:

  • The East Coast (PADD 1) comprises:
    • New England Subdistrict (PADD 1A): Conn., Maine, Mass., N.H., R.I., Vt.;
    • Central Atlantic Subdistrict (PADD 1B) : Del., D.C., Md., N.J., N.Y., Pa.; and
    • Lower Atlantic Subdistrict (PADD 1C) : Fla., Ga., N.C., S.C., Va., W.Va.
  • The Midwest (PADD 2) is Ill., Ind., Iowa, Kan., Ky., Mich., Minn., Mo., Neb., N.D., Ohio, Okla., S.D., Tenn., Wis.
  • The Gulf Coast (PADD 3) is Ala., Ark., La., Miss., N.M., Texas.
  • Rocky Mountain (PADD 4) is Colo., Idaho, Mont., Utah, Wyo.
  • The West Coast (PADD 5) is Alaska, Ariz., Hawaii, Nev., Ore., Wash.; plus Calif.